Yokohama Tire Corporation Returns as Title Sponsor of LPGA Tournament in Alabama

Top players expected to play in the 2016 Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic, May 4-8 at the RTJ Golf Trail at Capitol Hill in Prattville

For the third consecutive year, Yokohama Tire Corporation (YTC) is teeing it up with the Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) in Prattville, Alabama. That’s where the 2016 Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic will be held May 5-8 on the Senator Course at Capitol Hill along the Robert Trent Jones (RTJ) Golf Trail.

Longtime tournament veteran Kris Tamulis is expected to return to the 2016 Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic to defend her championship title, along with top players Stacy Lewis, Ha-Na Jang, Michelle Wie, Cristie Kerr, Yani Tseng, Suzann Pettersen, Ayako Uehara, Brooke Henderson and many others.

The tournament, traditionally held in late summer, has been moved to Mother’s Day weekend to enable LPGA golfers to participate in the Rio Summer Olympics. Currently, nearly half of the potential Olympians for women’s golf (representing 18 countries) are in the 2016 Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic field.

“We’re glad the Olympic committee has recognized golf and these tremendous athletes,” said Alan Holtschneider, YTC director of marketing. “The Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic will be a great way for the golfers to prepare for the Olympic Games, which should make for an exciting, competitive environment.”

The 2016 Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic will once again benefit, KaBOOM!, a national nonprofit dedicated to ensuring that all children get the balanced and active play they need to thrive. Proceeds from the tournament will help fund building another new playground for kids, like the one YTC and KaBOOM! built in Southern California in 2015.

Potential Olympians- These 28 Olympic hopefuls (based on today's International Golf Federation's Top 60) are in the current Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic field: Stacy Lewis, Ha-Na Jang, Amy Yang, Sei Young Kim, Brooke M. Henderson, Suzann Pettersen, Cristie Kerr, Anna Nordqvist, Minjee Lee, Pornanong Phatlum, Karrie Webb, Candie Kung, Charley Hull, Carlota Ciganda, Karine Icher, Julieta Granada, Catriona Matthew, Mariajo Uribe, Christel Boeljon, Alena Sharp, Paula Reto, Kelly Tan, Dewi Claire Schreefel, Gulia Sergas, Gaby Lopez, Laetitia Beck, Giulia Molinaro and Alejandra Llaneza. The Olympic ranking changes each week and will be finalized in July, two months after our event.

Other High Profile Players in the Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic Field: Brittany Lincicome, Na Yeon Choi, Chella Choi, Natalie Gulbis, Christina Kim, Jessica Korda, Belen Mozo, Ai Miyazato, Se Ri Pak, Sadena Parks, Morgan Pressel, Beatriz Recari, So Yeon Ryu, Yani Tseng, Michelle Wie and Cheyenne Woods.